P.O. Box 1454

Indiana, PA 15701

(724) 465-2511


Online store always open

Leader's Circle of Indiana County History

For almost half a century, the Leader’s Circle of Indiana County has been annually recognizing outstanding individuals that have had an impact on our community through their civic and volunteer activities. Initially, two awards were presented – the ATHENA Award and the Civic Leader of the Year Award. In 1984, the Civic Leader award was changed to recognize both a male and female civic leader. In 2017, the ATHENA Young Professional  Award was added. The first Civic Leader award was presented in 1979 to the late Roger Reschini, and the first Athena Award was presented in 1987 to Ellen Ruddock.  The first ATHENA Young Professional Award was presented to Haley Pazder in 2017.


The LCIC committee consists of community leaders, including past award recipients, who volunteer their time to recognize the good works of the people of Indiana County. Each year nominations are solicited and reviewed, and finalists are announced. Judging of nominations is done by judges who live outside of Indiana County. Awards are then presented at a dinner event in the fall.

Past ATHENA Award Recipients

Past Civic Leader Award Recipients

Past ATHENA Young Professional Award Recipients​